Sophie's Blog

Project 1. Series

Hey hey all,

Here's an introduction to my series! You can visit it here although it wasn't updating for whatever reason... I'm trying to fix that.

Anyway, this series is a meditation on the various types of objects that people keep with them, or at least the various objects that I have kept throughout my time at Princeton. I am currently a senior and I am a very nostalgic person so the combination of those two is very... emotional. This was kind of a farewell to Princeton for me, I'm probably going to sell a lot of things or keep some, maybe donate, or throw away. Anyway, it just feels weird that all of these things are kind of... going.

So I decided to document everything at my desk. Ideally I would have done my whole room, but that's a bit... much so I did the one part of my room I am currently glued to. I normally don't spend this much time at my desk in my room, but the pandemic has definitely changed a lot of people's habits, including mine. Currently, the desk is where I have lived for the past couple of weeks as I cry myself to sleep while half-heartedly writing my thesis and downing ten (coconut) redbulls. So I currently consider this to be the most important area of my room.

I documented everything, from the important things to the trash, because everything little thing makes up my desk and probably says something about me. Not everything is 'deep', sometime a tack is just a tack, or a skittle is just a skittle, but I think ultimately even the stupid things say something. Please enjoy <3

The home screen

The top drawer

The middle drawer

The bottom drawer

The little 'easter egg' that I have now spoiled

A close up of one of the items

An example of one of the items highlighted (the rabbit)